Is Taco Bell Halal or Haram In Islam?

The wonderful world of Mexican food thanks to Taco Bell is available worldwide.

Tacos, burritos, quesadillas, nachos, and many other Mexican-inspired specialties at Taco Bell restaurants and outlets of the American global fast food chain are sampled by over two billion customers every year.

Due to the extreme popularity of Taco Bell, which is best illustrated by the large number of people who use the services of this global fast-food chain every day, it is important to check whether the food served in these restaurants is suitable for people with specific dietary needs.

First of all, you need to check if Taco Bell is halal or haram.

Is Taco Bell Halal?

Taco Bell has seven thousand and seventy-two restaurants and outlets, ninety-three percent of which are franchises and independent licenses.

These restaurants and fast food outlets are located in the United States, Canada, Guatemala, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Panama, Nicaragua, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Japan, South Korea, China, Qatar, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Oman, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand, Australia, and Guam.

The business policy of the owners of these restaurants and outlets is to adapt to the local market and to always have products on the menu that are in line with the needs, wishes, and habits of the local population.

In addition to these specific local menus, the offer of each Taco Bell outlet will always include the following Taco Bell classics: Crunchy Tacos, Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Tacos, Quesarito, Bean Burrito, Cheesy Gordita Crunch, 7-Layer Burrito, Spicy Potato Soft Tacos, Mexican Pizza, Crunchwrap Supreme, Gordita Supreme, and Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes.

Crunchy Tacos have a hard, crunchy crust, after all just like any other classic taco. Crunchy Tacos are filled with seasoned beef, cheddar cheese, lettuce, and diced tomatoes.

If halal beef cheese is used for this taco, then Crunchy Tacos are also halal. Halal beef is considered beef that has been reared and slaughtered in a manner prescribed by Islamic food safety laws.

Cheese for the production of which animal rennet was used is haram and cheese for the production of which plant-based rennet was used is halal.

Quesarito is a burrito made with seasoned beef, chipotle sauce, melted cheese, and sour cream. Quesarito is served in a tortilla.

Quesarito is halal if it is made with halal beef, cheese, and sour cream.

Nacho Cheese Doritos  Locos Tacos have a crunchier crust than other tacos because they are made with Nacho Cheese Doritos crust. Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Tacos are filled with all the usual ingredients including seasoned beef, cheese, lettuce, and tomato.

Bean Burrito can be ordered in two variants: without cheese and with cheese.

Bean Burrito without cheese is a vegetarian specialty that carries the adventurous spirit of the old pioneers. The ingredients of this burrito are refried beans, diced onions, and red sauce.

Red sauce is a vegan product and contains the following ingredients: Tomato puree (tomato paste, water), vinegar, chili spices, potassium sorbate, food starch or xanthan gum, salt, sugar, natural flavors, and sodium benzoate (P), maltodextrin, garlic concentrate, and soy.

Bean Burrito without cheese is halal.

Bean Burrito with cheese, in addition to all these ingredients, also contains real cheddar cheese.

Cheddar cheese is produced using animal rennet and is haram.

Bean Burrito with cheese is haram.

Cheesy Gordita Crunch is flatbread filled with cheese, seasoned beef, and toppings.

On its website, Taco Bell states that products prepared in their restaurants are not specifically halal certified, but suppliers of meat and other ingredients, including cheeses, maybe have halal certified.

In those products like Cheesy Gordita Crunch where beef is used, and it is not stated what type of cheese is used, you should ask the restaurant if the meat and cheese used in this dish are certified.

7-Layer Burrito features refried beans, diced tomatoes, reduced-fat sour cream, shredded cheese, nacho cheese sauce, and guacamole.

All 7-Layer Burrito ingredients are suitable for vegetarians, but whether they are halal depends on the type of rennet used to prepare the cheese.

Spicy Potato Soft Tacos are stuffed tortillas and are suitable for a vegetarian diet. It consists of spicy potatoes, creamy chipotle sauce, and fresh lettuce.

The ingredients of creamy chipotle sauce are mayonnaise, sour cream, chipotle peppers, lime juice, garlic, and salt.

Based on the ingredients Spicy Potato Soft Tacos are Halal.

Mexican Pizza is actually two crunchy tacos loaded with beef, diced tomatoes, beans, and nacho cheese on top of a crispy shell.

Depending on the nacho cheese ingredients and the halal or haram status of the beef, this specialty will also be halal or haram.

If the cheese in the nacho cheese is plant-based and the meat is halal, then the Mexican Pizza will be halal.

Crunchwrap Supreme is a large tortilla filled with seasoned beef, lettuce, sour cream, nacho cheese sauce, and nacho crisps.

If the meat used in this specialty has a halal certificate, you should also check which cheese was used for the nacho cheese sauce.

If cheese made from vegetable ingredients is used, then the sauce is also halal.

Gordita Supreme is a flatbread filled with seasoned beef, tomatoes, lettuce, cheese, and an extra layer of flavorful crema.

If, after checking the cheese and meat used for Gordita Supreme, you determine that they are halal, then this specialty will also be halal.

Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes are crispy potatoes topped with melted cheese, warm nacho cheese sauce, and creamy jalapeno sauce.

You should check what types of cheeses were used in the preparation of this dish. If they are all halal, then Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes are also halal.

Is Taco Bell United States halal or haram in Islam?

In the United States, Taco Bell products are sold in fifteen thousand six thirty-eight locations.

In the United States, Taco Bell has seven thousand and seventy-two restaurants and outlets, ninety-three percent of which are franchises and independent licenses.

Taco Bell is extremely popular in the US.

According to statistics, Americans eat over four billion tacos a year. It is also interesting to note that more than half of the US population visits Taco Bell at least once every eleven days.

Taco Bell serves more than forty million customers every week in its stores in the US.

Taco Bell outlets in the United States are not halal certified.

All Tako Bell products in the United States are not halal certified, but the suppliers of the ingredients from which the food is made may have halal certification for their products.

Is Taco Bell Canada halal or haram in Islam?

In Canada, Taco Bell is located in one hundred and seventy stores.

According to Taco Bell’s official website, this global fast food chain does not serve halal food in Canada.

Is Taco Bell in Central and South America halal or haram in Islam?

Thus, Bell has sales points in eight countries of Central and South America: Chile, the Dominican Republic, Brazil, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Panama, and Peru.

The restaurant in Guatemala City is the largest Taco Bell outlet in the world.

Taco Bell in Guatemala is not halal certified.

Taco Bell has forty-six outlets in Costa Rica and twelve in Panama.

None of these fifty-eight outlets have a halal certificate.

Taco Bell has nine locations in El Salvador.

None of these nine outlets have halal certification.

Taco Bell has fourteen outlets in Chile.

A characteristic of Taco Bell in Chile is that in most outlets Taco Bell is co-located with Pizza Hut.

Only one outlet sells only Taco Bell products.

All fourteen Taco Bell outlets are located in shopping centers in Santiago.

None of these fourteen outlets have a halal certificate.

Taco Bell in the Dominican Republic has a restaurant in Santo Domingo.

Taco Bell in the Dominican Republic is not halal.

Taco Bell in Brazil opened its first restaurant back in 2016, the next twenty restaurants were opened in just two years, breaking the so-called Taco Bell Record for the development of this global fast food chain.

All Taco Bell restaurants in Brazil are not halal certified.

Taco Bell in Peru closed its stores in 1996.

After twenty-two years, Taco Bell has again included Peru in its map of sales points.

The first Taco Bell restaurant in Peru opened in 2018 after a long break.

Sales points in Peru, as is the case with all sales points in South and Central America, do not have halal certificates.

There are no Taco Bell outlets in Mexico.

The first Taco Bell outlet in Mexico was opened in 1992. But it was closed soon after.

In the country where the taco was invented, Taco Bell was met with misunderstanding and cold reception.

Often, the original names of Taco Bell specialties had to be changed so that Mexican customers would understand what kind of product it was, but that didn’t help either.

Fifteen years later, Taco Bell tried again to start selling its products in Mexico by opening an outlet in the parking lot of an upscale mall in Monterrey.

After the failure of this attempt, Taco Bell no longer tried to open any outlets in Mexico.

In the Taco Bell company, they commented on these attempts to sell their products in Mexico, the country where the taco originated, as bringing ice to Antarctica.

Is Taco Bell in Europe halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell has ninety-two points of sale in seven European countries.

These sales points are in the Netherlands, Great Britain, Spain, Romania, Iceland, Cyprus, and Finland.

Is Taco Bell United Kingdom halal or haram in Islam?

In Great Britain, Taco Bell, a global fast-food chain, has twenty-nine outlets.

In eighteen restaurants across the UK, the meat used is halal certified.

Other Taco Bell restaurants in the UK that do not have halal certificates for the meat they use in their food preparation also offer vegetarian options.

Restaurants with halal-certified meat are located in Leicester, Northampton, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, and several other places.

Most Taco Bell outlets with halal-certified meat are located in London.

Is Taco Bell Spain halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell has 134 outlets in Spain.

Most Taco Bell outlets are in Madrid. There are forty-three restaurants in the Spanish capital.

Is Taco Bell Romania halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell opened its first fast-food restaurant in Romania in 2017.

Since then, fourteen more Taco Bell outlets have been opened in Romania, located in ten cities across the country.

None of these fifteen Taco Bell outlets are halal certified.

Is Taco Bell Finland halal or haram in Islam?

There are sixteen Taco Bell outlets in Finland, mostly located in the Greater Helsinki area.

Finnish law stipulates that animals must be stunned before being slaughtered. Even though in slaughterhouses let the blood flow out from the body, still because the animals were stunned before slaughter, there are interpretations that this meat is still not halal.

Is Taco Bell Cyprus halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell opened its first store in Cyprus in 2010.

Taco Bell has four outlets in Cyprus today.

Is Taco Bell Netherlands halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell in the Netherlands has outlets in Eindhoven, Breda, Tilburg, Amersfoort, Rotterdam, Arnhem, The Hague, and Amsterdam.

Taco Bell restaurants in Eindhoven, Breda, Tilburg, Amersfoort, and Arnheim have 100% halal food on the menu.

And the Taco Bell restaurants in Amsterdam, The Hague, and Rotterdam have on the menu meatless dishes that are halal and fried chicken that has a halal-certified source, but all other food served in these restaurants is haram.

Is Taco Bell in Asia halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell has eleven outlets in China.

None of these outlets sell halal food.

Taco Bell Qatar sells halal food in Doha outlets.

In 2008, Taco Bell opened its first restaurant in Dubai in the famous Dubai Mall.

Taco Bell Dubai is Halal.

There are one hundred and twenty-three Taco Bell outlets in India.

The official website of Taco Bell India states that the food is halal at all outlets.

Most of the outlets are in Karnataka. There are twenty-eight outlets there.

There are fifteen Taco Bell outlets in Malaysia.

The food offered at Taco Bell outlets may be considered haram due to cross-contamination.

Haram and halal dishes are served at the same points of sale.

Is Taco Bell Australia halal or haram in Islam?

Taco Bell has thirty-seven outlets in Australia. Almost 40% of all Taco Bell outlets are located in Queensland.

None of these Taco Bell restaurants are halal-certified, although the official Taco Bell Australia websites state that some suppliers have halal-certified meat.

Is Taco Bell Guam halal or haram in Islam?

Guam residents can boast of living in an area with the most Taco Bell outlets per capita.

There is one Taco Bell restaurant of the global fast food chain for every twenty-five thousand inhabitants of this island in the Pacific.

There are as many as seven Taco Bell outlets in Guam, and there are a total of one hundred and seventy-four thousand two hundred and fourteen inhabitants.

The secret of such a large number of restaurants in such a small area is hidden in the fact that Guam is one of the bases of the US military in the Pacific.

Read also: Is KFC Halal? / Is IHOP Halal?

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles