Is Pizza Hut Halal or Haram in Islam?

Pizza is among the most popular fast food dishes. Worldwide, over five billion pizzas are sold annually.

Most pizzas are sold in the United States.

According to research and statistics, more than half of the total pizzas sold worldwide are sold in the United States.

According to those surveys, only seven percent of Americans, for example, have not eaten pizza in the last month.

In the US, forty-six slices of pizza are eaten annually, calculated in seconds, meaning that Americans eat three hundred and fifty slices of pizza every second.

For the global fast-food chain Pizza Hut, that’s a lot of work!

To this demand for pizza in the US, we should add the popularity and demand of this type of fast food worldwide, so it should not be surprising that Pizza Hut is one of the world’s most successful fast food chains.

According to some research, pizza is not only a popular modern dish but also a dish with a long history.

Namely, evidence was found that similar dishes, dough with various ingredients, were used two thousand-two hundred years ago.

From those first varieties of pizza to modern classics such as Neapolitan pizza, Margherita pizza, Pizza Capricciosa, Pizza quattro formaggi, New York-Style Pizza, Caprese Pizza, Pepperoni Pizza, Calzone pizza, and Pizza marinara, there have been countless more variations of pizza.

Pizza is usually a training ground for experimenting with various ingredients, especially if it is made at home, and most often, the choice is narrowed down to what is at hand and what we have in the kitchen at that moment.

Pizza Hut has outlets in more than one hundred and fifty-five countries worldwide.

The menu primarily includes classic pizzas, but there are many other types of pizzas on offer because the business policy of this global fast-food chain is that, above all, they try to meet consumers and satisfy their wishes.

But how to meet the needs prescribed by religious reasons? For example, is it possible to make classics with halal or kosher ingredients?

Is it possible to replace haram meat and meat products with halal meat?

Is it possible to replace haram cheese types with halal cheese obtained using vegetable rennet?

For answers to these questions, many people are interested.

Suppose it is possible to make classics in this way. In that case, also, many are interested in whether it is feasible to organize the entire offer in Pizza Hut fast food restaurants so that there is no cross-contamination of food.

If you need to eat exclusively in a halal way, it is clear that such questions interest you and are very important for you before you decide to go to a Pizza Hut restaurant in any part of the world.

Is Pizza Hut Halal?

The United States annually sells the most pizzas in the world.

Pizza Hut global chain of fast food restaurants in the US three thousand sixty-nine cities has six thousand eight hundred and sixty-two points of sale. No outlet offers halal pizzas.

In Great Britain, Pizza Hut has over two hundred and sixty restaurants where three million people eat pizza monthly.

Pizza Hut in the UK has a long tradition, with the first Pizza Hut restaurant on the island opening over forty years ago.

None of these Pizza Hut restaurants sell halal food, and the situation is the same in fourteen Pizza Hut outlets in Ireland because there is no halal food in them either.

In Canada, Pizza Hut has three hundred and thirty outlets. You can eat at one hundred and sixty-three points of sale, and pizza can be ordered and taken away at the other one hundred and forty-nine locations. None of these three hundred and thirty outlets sell halal food.

There are two hundred and seventy Pizza Hut outlets in Australia.

None of these two hundred and seventy outlets sell halal food.

In France, Pizza Hut has one hundred and ten outlets.

None of these outlets have a halal certificate, and none of them sell halal food.

In Germany, Pizza Hut has forty-six points of sale, and none of these facilities are products of halal status.

In Japan, fast food is sold in five hundred and twenty Pizza Hut outlets. In all these fast food establishments, the products are haram.

In Vietnam, two types of pizza are sold in Pizza Hut fast food chain outlets: pan pizza and thin and crispy pizza.

Both types of pizza are haram, primarily because beef and chicken are also harams because they are not slaughtered according to Islamic halal regulations.

Vegetarian pizzas are also offered in these establishments, but there is a risk of cross-contamination.

Also, for any Pizza Hut product in Vietnam, you must ask which oil is used because haram oils are also used.

Halal pizza is sold in Pizza Hut restaurants and outlets mainly in Muslim-majority countries such as Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Turkey, and many other countries.

Pizza Hut products are labeled with halal certificates in these and some other Muslim-majority countries.

From the text of the certificate, you will also be able to find out which local Islamic organization issued the halal certificate and approved the product.

In these countries, Pizza Hut products are sold in restaurants that are also halal certified, meaning there are no haram products in them and no risk of cross-contamination.

The fast food chain Pizza Hut in Singapore has seventy-seven outlets selling halal food. The first Pizza Hut Singapore opened in 1981.

Pizza Hut outlets are located in most malls, such as Thomson Mall, Tampines Plaza, Nex, and Bedok Mall.

Products in all seventy-seven outlets in Singapore have halal certificates.

Pizza Hut has over two hundred and ten restaurants and outlets in Malaysia. The first Pizza Hut outlet was opened in Kuala Lumpur in 1982.

The largest Pizza Hut in Malaysia is in cities such as Kuala Lumpur, Pahang, Sarawak, Melaka, and Sabah.

You can find Pizza Hut restaurants and outlets in Malaysia in most malls and complexes.

All two hundred and ten Pizza Hut, fast food restaurants serve halal food, certified with a halal certificate.

Sri Lanka has ninety-seven restaurants and Pizza Hut outlets selling halal food on its territory. Ceylon Jamiyathul Ulama (ACJU) has certified these restaurants as Halal.

Halal restaurants of the Pizza Hut fast-food chain are located in Sri Lanka in all major cities such as Kandy, Galle, Kurunegala, and Colombo, but also in places such as Bambalpitiya, Fort, Mount Lavinia, and Colpetty.

There are 236 Pizza Hut restaurants and fast food outlets in Indonesia. These restaurants and outlets are located in over fifty major cities across Indonesia.

These restaurants and outlets have halal certificates.

There are seventy-four Pizza Hut restaurants and outlets in Pakistan. All Pizza Hut restaurants and outlets are halal certified and have halal certificates.

Does Pizza Hut offer meat-free products?

Pizza Hut, a global chain of restaurants and fast food outlets, offers products in more than seventeen thousand locations worldwide.

All global chains of restaurants and fast food stores try to adapt their offer to their consumers’ local needs and habits in the countries where they offer their products.

Among the reasons that influence the change of the Pizza Hut menu in some countries are primarily religious and cultural reasons.

Still, increasingly the decisions to expand the offer are also influenced by the eating habits of modern people.

All over the world, people are deciding to reduce their meat consumption. The reasons for this decision are the need to live healthier.

The use of plants in food, in addition to having a beneficial effect on the human body, also benefits the entire planet because, in this way, the need for larger amounts of meat is reduced.

Plant-based food is more profitable because it is cheaper than meat production, and the prices of the finished products remain the same.

This is very stimulating for global fast food chains, so they increasingly decide to include alternative products on the menu in which plant-based ingredients replace meat.

Vegan and vegetarian products can also be a solution for people who, for religious reasons, are prevented from using meat products that conflict with the laws prescribed by their religious dietary regulations.

For Muslims, a vegetarian or vegan alternative is an excellent opportunity to enjoy food while avoiding haram foods made from pork and meat products or products made from meat that is not halal due to the way the animals were slaughtered.

Also, in this way, using cheeses made on a plant basis avoids the use of cheeses for the production of animal rennet was used.

Pizza Hut has many new products made using plants or ingredients on plant-based. This offer depends on the location and country of the point of sale.

Local Pizza Hut menus

Several examples of innovative ideas in the original menus of local Pizza Hut restaurants and fast food outlets in countries around the world will illustrate how the business policy of this global food chain meets consumer habits.

Depending on the country where some of these new pizzas are included in the Pizza Hut menu, it can be assumed whether the ingredients are halal or haram.

In Australia, Pizza Hut introduced pizza with Marmite in its offer.

Marmite is a salty spread that is created as a by-product in the production of beer.

This type of pizza did not become popular.

Pizza with Marmite spread is haram.

In the Middle East, Pizza Hut offered a pizza whose crusts were filled with chicken with honey in one variant, and in another variant, the crusts were filled with cream cheese.

This type of pizza is halal because the ingredients used are halal: halal chicken, honey, and plant-based cream cheese.

According to some claims, new types of pizza were often experimented with in Hong Kong.

One of those experiments was a pizza with the taste of salmon and flying fish roe.

Salmon-flavored cream cheese was used for this pizza. It is unknown if this cream cheese is made from animal rennet or is a halal cream cheese derived from a plant base.

All ninety restaurants and outlets Pizza Hut has in Hong Kong do not offer halal food.

There is a type of pizza in Singapore that is so rich that it is advertised as Insane Pizza, and its real name on the menu is Double Sensation.

First, this type of pizza has two crusts, both of which are covered with many ingredients. Several types of cheese are used, especially for the upper crust.

The inner crust contains turkey ham, mushrooms, smoked chicken, and other vegetable ingredients.

In India, Pizza Hut restaurants offer Tekha Paneer Makhani Pizza.

For this pizza, paneer butter masala is combined with various toppings and spices that illustrate the richness of the aromas of Indian cuisine.

In Japan, pizza with grilled beef is offered, and in the Middle East, chicken shawarma pizza.


On the official website of Pizza Hut in the US, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and many other countries around the world where this global chain of restaurants and fast food outlets offers its products, it is stated that the food in these fast food restaurants is made according to to a strict food and safety procedure, but that procedure does not include halal standards.

Therefore, none of the Pizza Hut restaurants or outlets in these countries have a halal certificate, and none sell halal food.

Halal Pizza Hut restaurants and outlets are mainly in Muslim-majority countries such as Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Singapore, and Turkey.

At Pizza Hut restaurants and fast food outlets, you can always choose to order a vegetarian or vegan version.

In this way, you will avoid ordering haram pizzas made from pork, pork products, or any other meat that is not from a halal source and does not have a halal certificate.

You will also avoid haram types of cheese derived from animal rennet if you order a pizza that contains cheese derived from a plant-based plant rennet or if you order a pizza without cheese.

Read also: Is KFC Halal? / Is Burger King Halal?

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles