There are two types of soda drinkers in this world, and right away we will ask you, where do you belong?

Are you a Coca-Cola drinker or a Pepsi-Cola drinker?

There is no third option, at least this is true for the majority of people, as they maybe belong to the third category of those who do not like sodas at all.

Also, and this is worth saying that these particular two brands alone have a 99% share of the soda market, but they’re still fighting a battle over who has the most drinks sold and drunk.

Their rivalry is known, and it comes first and foremost in the terms of marketing, where they compete for major event sponsorships, and prime ad slots, for fast-food chains that will only suit their products.

Millions, no – billions of dollars were spent on campaigns and advertisements; one would think that this expensive war is being waged between the world’s leading powers.

How are these two corporations fighting for every thirsty mouth on this planet – they are ruthless, that is for sure.

But, what is noticeable in recent years is the fact that these two major companies are fighting to take over some of the biggest markets these days, which can be limited by some religious rules.

We are speaking of the Islamic and Kosher markets (where there are not just Jewish people, but also those who are following such dietary rules, and among them, there are a lot of celebrities).

There is nothing nicer and sweeter than drinking a glass of Pepsi or some other carbonated drink after a somewhat larger meal, which will help him digest the food he has eaten, especially if he has eaten a little too much.

In the Jewish community, as we already know, there are standards and a way of eating, that is. a diet that every Jew should adhere to and know which food and drink he may and may combine with.

As for specifically carbonated drinks, here today we will specifically write about the famous Pepsi, about whether Pepsi is Kosher or not.

Now, this is a question that is not so easy to answer, but in the following lines, we will try to explain this doubt.

Is Pepsi Kosher? 

Pepsi as Pepsi ie. original Pepsi is a kosher drink and can be drunk.

But there is one, i.e. several things that can affect Pepsi not being Kosher.

Confusing isn’t it?

Pepsi is not kosher in all countries, because, for example, Pepsi produced in Europe can contain a non-kosher additive.

But in America, Pepsi is marked with a “K” or “U” certificate, which means that it is kosher and that Jews can drink it without fear.

The problem arises abroad, where the company did not want to pay for the preparation of the certificate and the verification of the drink, so on the packaging it is not written whether it is kosher or not, but in fact it is!

This is where the confusion arises because a person who wants and likes to drink Pepsi must read the ingredients on the packaging and determine for himself whether that Pepsi is kosher or not.

It is something that takes a Jew’s time and some of them will prefer to give up the check and shake the drink without the risk of drinking something they shouldn’t.

Companies may be at a loss in this way, but the market adapts to the needs and consumers, so if we take into account that there are most Jews in America, it is logical that they will pay to check the pizza to a rabbi, who will check the eyes and determine if it is kosher or not and give the green light for the creation of a Kosher certificate with the letter “U” or “K” on the packaging, which means that it is free for sale to Jews.

Since Pepsi is produced in a country where there are few Jewish communities, it is inconvenient and unnecessary for them to create a certificate, since the majority of the population does not care whether something is kosher or not.

Not all Pepsi drinks are Kosher, because there are more types of this drink and more flavors.

There are Pepsi drinks that contain substances that are harmful and the Jewish people know how to recognize them on the packaging in this case they will bypass this product because it is not Kosher.

There are also Pepsi drinks with various syrups and colors, and artificial sweeteners that are also not kosher and that the Jewish community avoids, because they are considered harmful and. are Kosher and do not have a certificate.

When this is read by a person who doesn’t care if Pepsi is kosher or not, two things seem complicated and confusing, otherwise, they know very well what they can and can’t drink because they are taught that from a young age and that’s what they are. they are just used to it and that discipline is part of their life.

This renunciation of certain foods is also a kind of strengthening of the psyche because they resist the temptation to try something that is always within reach and thereby strengthen their will because the forbidden fruit is said to be “always the sweetest”.

Corn syrup is something that is rarely avoided, if Pepsi has this addition, then it means that it is not kosher.

More about Pepsi

The majority of us know the developing path when it comes to Coca-Cola, but, do you know more about the developing path of Pepsi-Cola?

Unlike Coca-Cola, its rival Pepsi-Cola had a bit different journey.

Some like to call it a whirlwind journey.

This beverage was made by pharmacist Caleb Bradham in 1893 as a treatment for stomach disorders; it included the enzyme called pepsin.

The Pepsi-Colagot is named after this enzyme.

Pepsi was triumphant in the first moments of trade and was patented very fast.

Nonetheless, thanks to World War I, the cost of sugar in the world’s demand rose enormously and PepsiCo, a group based on the example of the Coca-Cola company, no longer had the means for production in 1923 the firm announced bankruptcy.

The brand and company were traded in 1928 to a Virginia business but without much luck.

Eventually, in 1931, Pepsi was purchased by Charles Gut, who had been the owner of the candy stores.

He wanted Pepsi to replace Coca-Cola in his stores since he did not like the cost at which the Coca-Cola business was trading him the syrup.

An intriguing point is that Coca-Cola could have purchased PepsiCo on many occurrences, but the managers thought that this drink had no future and that they would just spend dollars on nothing.

This decision of Coca-Cola is still a benchmark for large groups to never minimize little-contending producers.

Since the 70s, Pepsi has turned its marketing to the younger crowd, and even though it was risky, it turned out to be victorious.

So in the 1970s, this company organized the competition for marketing purposes and it introduced the Pepsi Challenge.

Consumers have to blindly notice the distinction between their drink and the “original” or the Coca-Cola drink.

The majority of challengers preferred Pepsi’s drink.

To this day, Pepsi and Coca-Cola are major competitors in the soda drink markets and fast food markets, and this is something that is completely normal for this business.


Kosher is only and exclusively Pepsi with real sugar and nothing else.

As far as corn syrup is concerned, many nutritionists claim that it is precisely the number one culprit for the obesity of the American population and that it should be removed from use whenever possible.

It is always better to consume real sugar, even though it is more harmful than corn syrup and artificial sweeteners.

Pepsi with caffeine and Pepsi without caffeine are also allowed if they do not contain corn syrup.

Pepsi without caffeine for Jews who want to avoid caffeine for any reason is also kosher and can be drunk, so you should look again to see if it has a kosher certificate marked with “U” or “K” on its packaging, which means that it is the drink passed the check, or to read the ingredients on the product packaging.

This also applies if the renegade of the Jewish people and religion is traveling somewhere on vacation or on business to another country, where there are no kosher certificates for certain packaging.

Then you have to read the composition on the packaging, so as not to rule out the Kosher diet, especially during Passover, you have to be very careful because of the corn syrup that Pepsi can contain.

Given that Rabin’s control, which will come into operation of a factory that wants to declare its goods, i.e. rice, kosher, is very strict and even more rigorous than the regular inspection that visits the production, many producers do not want to get involved in obtaining this certificate.

We believe that they are wrong because when something is marked as Kosher and a certificate is obtained, it means that the product has indeed passed very rigorous quality control and that there is no harm to human health.

Again, it should be borne in mind that although Pepsi has a certificate that it is Kosher, its consumption should not be overdone, because it contains sugar that is known that it is not very healthy.

A couple of sips of this wonderful drink after a meal or with it will please you and help you digest the food you have eaten.

But everything beyond that is not enough, and you should always take a break from drinking carbonated beverages, because it can lead you to unnecessary weight gain, and you certainly don’t want to do that to yourself, because it entails certain consequences for your health.

The fact that something is kosher does not mean that it can be consumed in unlimited quantities and as much as you like.

And that also applies to Pepsi, which you should leave for some special occasions, because abstaining from something you love and that is beautiful has its advantages after all.

Read also: Is Coca-Cola Kosher? / Is Coffee Kosher?

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles