Have you ever tried the octopus?

Did you like the taste?

It is a delicacy, and in certain countries, it is served even raw, in some Asian countries in particular.

There, octopuses and many other creatures from the sea are true favorites and they eat almost everything found in it, and this is the reason, by many why they’re living long and looking so youthful.

Octopuses are often on their menus and they like to consume it almost raw.

It is very important how the octopus is prepared because it depends on whether it will lose any useful properties or become counterproductive to health.

Because it is very important how the octopus is prepared and in what way you consume it, as it can be very toxic if it is not prepared in the right way.

It is important to know how to preserve all the beneficial properties of octopus meat by preparing it.

The octopus has a unique and unusual structure that is the subject of numerous studies, as one of the animals that is proven to have a very high IQ for an animal.

The octopus is an animal that is also known by the name chameleon of the sea, as it can shift its shape and color, regrow limbs, and even have more than one heart.

It is an amazing source of protein, but can all people eat it – for example, pregnant women should avoid it for health reasons, but what about people who are restricted for some religious reasons?

Like the Jewish community – can they consume this delicacy?

The fundamental or the primary reason why kosher food is so relevant for people in the Jewish community is hygiene, as since old times is what is said that to maintain purity from the inside and outside, clean food should be consumed.

Here, there is a strong belief that, for example, it is healthier to eat meat from animals that have been processed according to Kosher regulations.

Every kosher food item must have a certificate, i.e. it must be prepared under the constant supervision of a rabbi.

This is the ideal scenario, but there are other ways how you can know your food is kosher.

But now let us look at all reasons why the octopus is or is not kosher.

Let us look at all reasons.

Is Octopus Kosher?

The general rule regarding seafood in the Jewish diet is that all that has fins and scales can be eaten, and it is seen as kosher fish.

It has to stay pink in its color just like the salmon and it is then by default seen as kosher.

On the other side of the story, all that comes from the water and does not have these two are not included.

This also implies shrimp, clams, crabs, lobsters and we have to add, as this is the topic of the day – the octopus.

All of these, just like the octopus are not fish, and do not fall under the list of permitted fish that is the list seen in the Torah, where you can find all types of fish that are permitted.

When it comes to octopus it is not on this list.

Just to remind you that the rigid Kosher religious principles consist of restricting consuming foods and dairy.

And among foods that are strictly forbidden are of course pork as it is seen as impure, and all insects are banned as well as shellfish.

Meat has to be ritually killed to provide no hints of blood are visual; as it must be drained from any blood.

Is there any type of seafood that is Kosher?

Among the many different kinds of fish that have these two traits as then they are considered to be kosher, to have fins and scales; there are many of them on the market.

From tuna and salmon to mackerel.

And, we have said since shrimps, crabs, and lobster, as well as octopus, do not have any of these traits and therefore they cannot be seen as kosher.

Kosher food must be prepared based on strict rules, and when this word is translated from Hebrew it means prepared based on Jewish tradition.

These are general rules to follow, and if you are not sure about them, then you can always speak to your local salesperson and see it.

We have to add that certain kinds of mammals, shellfish, whales, and dolphins cannot ever come in alliance with kosher dietary rules.

When it comes to fish roe or caviar, then it could be done, as long as there is strict supervision by Jewish regulators.

This is the only optional way for their consumption, as the safest way to eat it.

It is necessary for people who may have an allergic reaction to shellfish to comprehend the various parts of these sea beings.

Mussels, scallops, clams, and oysters fall under the same category as lobsters, prawns and shrimps, and crabs.

In Torah, it is said that it is solely permitted to consume fish that have both fins and scales and since all of these do not have it, right away we know that they are not kosher.

We have to add one thing here – nowadays there are many modern Jewish people who think that these rules in Torah are irrational, but still, no one ever breaks them as they are very much incorporated into their long-lasting tradition.

More about Octopus

Octopus is, for those who want to consume it, and do not have any, both health or religious limitations, has a lot of protein, fat, and carbohydrates, but does not contain sugar and fiber.

It is a good source of iron, it has amazing Omega 3 acids.

Also, the octopus is very rich in copper and selenium.

It also has a large amount of folate and vitamin B12, and many other vitamins.

It is an ideal choice for those attempting to manage their weight.

The octopus has a large amount of potassium, magnesium, and calcium, and analyses indicate that these elements when mixed can decrease the chance of stroke and support the cardiovascular system as well as the heart.

Nevertheless, it is important to know that some of the useful properties can be misplaced, and some can even be made ineffective, which depends on how the octopus is made, and in what way, as there are good ways to make it, as well as bad ways, that take away all benefits from it.

So for example, for all those who decide to fry or put it in a lot of grease like butter, then they make one extremely calory loaded meal, and then it loses all of its good traits and it can make even harm the human body.

But, we have to say that when Octopus is made in the right way, it has numerous benefits, as it is loaded with Omega 3 fatty acids.

For those who do not know are very good fats associated with a number of advantages for our heart, reducing blood pressure and restricting the collection of plaque in the blood.

In octopuses, we can find also a great amount of taurine, which is a type of amino acid, which is also accountable for lowering blood pressure and it is good for the blood.

It has been shown that the mentioned amino acid taurine has anti-cancer and antiviral products.

Study says that it fights against inflammatory functions in the body and acts as an antioxidant, defending cells from damage connected to the formation of cancer.

Octopus also has high levels of other antioxidants that can lower the chance of cancer- we spoke of them before, like folate and vitamin B12.

Better mental health thanks to magnesium, and it can help people who are dealing with depression and stress.

One of the elements that many people do not get enough of, and which is essential in the combat against mental problems, is magnesium.

The study has shown that octopus has it, and the point that magnesium helps healthful brain activity, memory, and learning methods is valuable in preventing diseases like dementia.

Therapies founded on the service of octopus parts for these degenerative conditions are also being examined.

The heightened nutritional range can cause issues for people who already have some chronic diseases.

Thus, prior to including octopus in your food, speak with the physician and he will tell you all about the risks that eating octopus may bring.

So, those who are permitted to eat it should do it moderately and also should observe the huge quantities of sodium which is very bad for the nervous system when consumed in large quantities, as it is very high in sodium.


In the end, let us sum up all that we have found out regarding this topic -is octopus permitted in the Kosher diet?

It is not.

Just to remind you that kosher meals are made in accordance with Jewish religious traditions regarding nutrition.

Nowadays as you can see many restaurants, hotels, markets and fast food places are offering kosher food, as well as more and more air companies are offering kosher meals to their passengers.

To remind you – kosher meals contain meat from animals that have fully cloven hooves and ruminant food or fish species that have both fins and scales. They contain fruits and vegetables (except those susceptible to infection).

It is an important source of protein, and in most parts of the world, it is a delicacy.

Along with numerous health benefits, it is believed to treat impotence and increase libido, as well as the overall health of the reproductive system.

Some groups of people should not overdo it, especially if they already have problems with cholesterol and minimal consumption is also recommended for pregnant women.

If you have an allergy to some types of shellfish such as oysters, crabs, or shrimp, avoid octopus as well.

Fish and seafood are excellent food choices for diabetics

Some studies have revealed the presence of heavy metals in octopus tissue, along with toxins such as lead.

Although the levels of these toxins are below the standards that could endanger humans, excessive consumption could cause disturbances.

For the same reason, pregnant women, who are especially prone to the possibility of food poisoning, should be careful.

And, regardless of its health status, the Jewish community and all those who follow such dietary rules cannot consume octopus.

As it belongs to nonkosher fish.

Along with shrimps, clams, swordfish, oysters, sharks, lobster, eel

For fish to be kosher it has to be fish with scales and fins.

Octopus, as well as squid, does not have either it cannot be consumed.

But, on the market, you can find much nice kosher fish – sole, cod, bass, flounder, etc.

Read also: Is Lobster Kosher? / Is Sushi Kosher?

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles