Is Laffy Taffy Halal or Haram In Islam? 

What do you first think when you feel the first “bite” of nervousness in your stomach, and you feel like your energy is very low?

Are you considering doing a certain exercise to meditate, drinking water, or something similar, or do you think that you could eat something nice, something instantly sweet, a candy?

And on the market, there are numerous things to choose from, all wonderfully packaged and branded, sweetly promising you the answer to all your concerns, at least for the time being, and you can buy it wherever you go.

We think about food every day, and this is not something that only some people do, we all do it. It is on our minds even in occurrences when we no longer have to hunt it, collect it, and just survive.

Often times we are wondering what to consume next, and we revolve our lives around this, many activities are revolved around it as it is a social category.

Hunger is one of the basic alarms in our body, which warns us that it is time to provide our body with fuel so that it can continue to function.

In the 21st century, we are surrounded by food in every possible way, and candies especially for kids are very tempting.

It smiles at us from the billboard, promises a wonderful time while sizzling from the TV speakers, and beckons us from everywhere.

We think about food and if we take care of nutrition, and we think about it if we are incredibly biologically lucky, so we don’t have to take care.

It is not an exaggeration to say that civilization has turned to hedonistic pleasures, and among them, food is emerging in the first place, with sure and delicious steps.

And as we have said there are many things to choose from – one of them is sweet candy named Laffy Taffy which comes from the American market of candies, and it comes in various flavors.

As all of us, people of the Muslim community are lovers of sweets, although, just in the Jewish religion, there are certain restrictions on what is acceptable to be eaten.

The general rule is that everything is allowed or halal, unless it is said strickly that is haram for one of the reasons – like if that food for example is intoxicating, or it can harm a human organism, or it comes from forbidden sources, like an animal like pig.

They cannot consume anything that has a gross taste, that can be intoxicating or that is made out of impure ingredients.

Now, is this famous sweet for whatever reason falling under the category of forbidden, or is this candy something that all people of the Muslim faith who have a sweet tooth can enjoy?

Is Laffy Taffy Halal or Haram In Islam? 

Right away we will take a look at the list of ingredients so that we can determine whether it is halal or haram.

Also, we must say, that depending on the flavor, ingredients vary a lot, and it can affect their halal status.

And if you want to find out whether this candy is suitable for you, then you always look at the packaging, and you will find out.

Most commonly in Laffy Taffy, there is oil (coconut or palm) and of course a lot of sugar and corn syrup.

Also, in it, we can find salt, trans fats, soy lecithin, malic acid, monoglycerides, and artificial flavor.

In some cases, there can be traces of eggs.

Looking at this list of ingredients we can say that Laffy Taffy is halal candy and that the Muslim community can satisfy their sweet tooth by eating them.

Now, we must add that this very notable brand of candy is made by Ferrara Candy Company, and this chewy candy is considered to be halal, but there is no clearness when it comes to the production ways.

It could be presumed that Laffy Taffy, in fact, in its ingredients does not have any animal by-product or any derivative that comes from alcohol that is strictly forbidden.

And when we know it, then it can be said that it is halal.

In some countries, there is even a Halal certificate for Laffy Taffy.

Is any Laffy Taffy that is haram?

This may be the case since there are many flavors of this candy, and there are even some that are made out of mystery flavor, and you do not know what is put in them.

Regardless, it is necessary to mention that this judgment should be created on each individual case when you look at the list of elements and the process of production.

Also, leaning on the place where you have bought Laffy Taffy and what kind of components are utilized, it may or may not be regarded as halal.

Thus, it is necessary to review with the factory or merchant prior to buying Laffy Taffy to confirm that it satisfies Islamic food policies.

Further, it could be seen as reasonable to search for certifications that come from a reliable third source.

They may be in a position to confirm their halal status.

Are Laffy Taffy Bites Halal?

We cannot answer this question so simple as it depends on the elements that are used to make them – besides halal ingredients like sugar, egg whites, and corn syrup there can be some additional ingredients.

So, always check the list of ingredients before you buy them and eat them – but in some cases, some companies that make it can state that their product is halal, and this is something that will ease your mind when choosing whether can you eat it.

When you are not certain, you should if you want to get in touch with the company that makes them.

More about Laffy Taffy

This candy was originally made in the 70s, in Illinois, and it has gained immense popularity – and it was marketed as candy that has had a lot of flavor for a long time, it has a full flavor to be more concrete.

It was part of the Nestle company, but in recent years it was sold to the Italian company named Ferrero SPA which makes Nutella.

Some of the flavors that are also very popular and could be found in some parts of the world are pineapple, caramel apple, lemon raspberry, orange sorbet, pumpkin donut, coconut, apple crisps, strawberries and cream, peppermint, chocolate mousse, guava.

There are also those flavors that are not manufactured anymore like hot cocoa and mango.

And in some countries, there are even more interesting tastes of this wonderful candy to choose from.


Laffy Taffy are adored by so many people from different parts of the world, not just the USA where they are made, for their exceptionally different tastes.

People admire this candy as it is a very smooth feeling that permits the sweet taste to dissolve while you eat it, and with each and every new taste things are getting better and better, and the enjoyment is huge.

They certainly allow illuminate your day, and kids truly love this sweet.

Furthermore, on the market, you can find them in different tastes – most notably there are flavors like strawberry, banana, and cherry, and in some markets, you can buy Laffy Taffy which has a mystery flavor.

The last one is especially hard to know if is it halal, and you as a Muslim believer must be extra careful.

Ultimately, if you desire to be sure that a certain product is considered halal for eating or drinking, then it is most reasonable to correspond with the factory or merchant before buying.

This statement can assist you in completing a knowledgeable judgment when choosing whether can you eat this candy or not, and this is not the case only with Laffy Taffy, but with some other candies as well.

It is essential to reflect that the final judgment concerning a halal status of a certain product must be on the Islamic scholars that are helping Muslim believers to understand the guidance of their faith.

Finally, it is up to all Muslims as individuals to make a choice of what they consider acceptable based on their own beliefs.

Hence, if you have any suspicions or worries about a certain product’s halal status, it is best to confer with a competent Islamic scholar or religious authority before eating a certain product.

Such action will confirm that you are completing an educated conclusion about what you accept is acceptable for eating based on your faith.

Now, in the end, as we know candies are not healthy to be eaten, and from that point of view it is not advisable to eat something that can harm your health.

But from a point of view, you can eat this candy – as the ingredients are halal, but when you buy some unknown kind or a different flavor than usual then you must be careful.

Read also: Is Jelly Belly Halal? / Is Bubble Tea Halal?

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles