Historians believe, based on some evidence, that the consumption of cheese began many millenniums in the past, like in the year 8000. BC.

And, a bit later the Ancient Greeks, who were excelling in everything find great joy in this and they successfully turned cheese-making into a skill, but more it was like something that could be called a form of art.

There are as numerous types of cheese as there are countries in the world – find the cheese that suits you, but be careful you may become addicted to cheese, as it can happen at times, as scientists have found out.

We have to say, in the beginning, that chees is the food that is very much recommended as a part of a nice meal, but it does matter what kind of cheese you will use.

There are so many of them; and on the market, you can buy even cheese that is not made of any dairy products.

So, cheese is a dairy product that everyone knows, there are thousands of different types, flavors, and textures.

As with any other type of food, some advocate the abundant use of cheese in a daily diet, while others believe that cheese should not be used at all, just like other dairy products. And that there has to be a limit to its consumption.

What many studies confirm – cheeses are good for health, and when you just take a look at parts of the world where there is a significant production and consumption of cheese, it is clear that life expectancy is longer there.

For example, we can count countries just as France, Ireland, Finland, Denmark, and Germany are the largest consumers of cheese.

But, here we have another question on our minds – can people who follow a kosher diet or belong to the Jewish community eat cheese, or there are some special kosher cheeses on the market (and what are they)?

Here is the answer!

Is Cheese Kosher? 

Here we will try to give you the answer is cheese kosher, if the answer is yes, then the next question is which one?

Are there any special ways of how cheese is manufactured, as we know that dairy and meat are strictly forbidden in kosher cuisine?

To start with, kosher suggests things, among it food, that are appropriate, or also things that are seen as appropriate or proper for food based on Jewish dietary regulations.

It is relevant to say that this is the law that is present for regulation of the two fundamental elements, on the one side, the approved nourishment and, on the other hand, how they should be made since it must be under control at all times, and even the slightest detail must be suitable, or kosher.

So, we know that certain rules resolve which food items can be consumed and which cannot, and what they have to be prepared so that they are seen as kosher, and t obtain a certification.

This encloses meat, dairy products, fish, etc.

But there are some rules to be followed, and for example, as for meat, only those mammals that chew their food (ruminants) and separate (cow, ox, goat, sheep, lamb) are allowed, and also goose, chicken, duck, and turkey.

When it comes to fish, only those that have fins and scales are seen as kosher, and in this sense, any shellfish is forbidden.

There is also the option of being vegetarian or vegan, only here they take it very very and look at it from an honest point of view.

Having Kosher certification ensures that the item does not contain anything it shouldn’t, delivering consumers certainty in what they are eating.

Now, we must say that there are some different kinds of kosher cheese – but there is nothing in that cheese that is different.

The way it is made is different, and this is something that we must clarify. Kosher cheese is not another type of cheese, but, we have to say that the technique of manufacturing the cheese is more meticulous, and controlled properly.

By this, we indicate that the kinds of cheese appropriate for Jewish dietary norms are cheddar, mozzarella, and Swiss cheese, but they have to have kosher certification.

In any other way, this cheese could not be suitable or kosher.

You can recognize them when you look at the packaging – there is a usual letter K that stands for kosher and it is very often with stars, but there are other markings.

Such kinds of cheeses are most commonly found either in specific parts of countries around the world, in special food aisles, or the dairy gallery with other dairy products like milk or yogurt.

It depends on specific supermarkets, but if there are Jewish districts where you live, certainly there are items in supermarkets that complete Jewish food means.

Why cheese is not kosher?

Kosher cheese has many benefits when compared to regular cheese, which is not kosher for the reason of rennet.

Just to remind you, rennet is needed to make the cheese, and rennet is received from animals. Concretely, from the stomach lining and this is an element that can make cheese not be kosher.

Thus, it can exclusively be made with kosher animals or maybe in some cases we are speaking of microbial or plant-based alternatives to be certified.

How is made kosher cheese?

To start with, all the tools for the manufacturing of the cheese (in this case cheese, but this applies to any other food product) have to be kosher and the second is even more important.

On the machines and tools, there should not be any meat derivatives – for example on the machine that mixes cheese and sausages to make a sandwich.

Also, what is important is the technique of animal sacrifice as it often can be a bit displeasing, but it is a standard system that enables holy sacrifice, where, without anesthetics or similar, the throat is cut with a specific cut, in one go.

Now, dairy products are something else – here, in this case, the milk is acquired from a live animal as typically.

This is because this milk can come from any animal that gives it ( a kosher animal – cow, goat, or sheep).

And also it must come straight from the farm and from this place, every next process in the production of the cheese must be observed so that it becomes Kosher certified.

When conveyed to the processing works, all tools, components, and supplies should, of course, be kosher to meet criteria, as well as be supervised by a rabbi or someone who is a representative of Jewish kosher rules.

And to be honest, we must say that this cannot be always the case, in a sense that some, or many kinds of cheeses demand the sight of a rabbi, or it would not be seen as kosher.

More about cheese

Cheese is a food product obtained by coagulation of proteins in milk (casein), most often cow, goat, and sheep milk.

All of these animals produce milk and therefore from it cheese and other dairy products could be made, and they all have their different traits.

Some have a stronger smell, some taste, and some structure different, but all of them have a lot of fans in the world.

Cheese contains different ratios of milk fat and protein, and to start the cheese-making process, rennet (enzyme, ferment) is used, and salt is added.

This was, as you could have seen a problem for a cheese to be considered kosher, and it is the same way when it comes to halal foods, rennet is the problematic part here.

And when we are speaking of health benefits, besides the great taste and addictive nature of the cheese, we must say that proteins are necessary for the normal operation and development of human organisms, and different kinds of cheese include them in larger quantities, so even those who do not eat meat are happy to eat these foods.

There are also numerous ways on how you eat it – whether it is a cold serving of cheese with a meal or a salad, cheese is inevitable in many cuisines some of which are based on cheese.

And frankly, we cannot remember any that completely excludes some form of cheese.

One more thing must be added here so it can be shown how cheese is important, and in a general sense, all dairy products, and that is the amount of calcium that is found in it.

Calcium is truly essential for strong and healthy bones and teeth, and cheese as milk concentrate has sufficient amounts of this mineral.

That is why it is good for both children and elderly people, but it is very important to eat it moderately, and to buy as organic kinds as possible, kosher option in this sense is not a bad idea, and to pair it with the right other products.

And here is one interesting piece of research – Yale scientists have tried to explain why we are more addicted to some foods than others.

There is a perfect explanation – in fact, their study showed that, for example, consuming cheese activates the same part of the brain as hard drugs because of the same chemical ingredient contained in cheese and in addictive drugs, called casein.

So, are you addicted to cheese, we would want to know, what is your favorite kind.

And the love for cheese is so great that there are numerous options for vegans and vegetarians that there are “fake” cheeses that have a similar taste to the real deal.


Cheese is the food item that those who follow a kosher diet and people who belong to the Jewish religion can eat, but of course, it must also be kosher.

Kosher cheese is produced the same way as non-kosher cheese, excluding that in this product there cannot be any additional elements that might be marked as non-kosher cheese.

Since it is in accord with Jewish dietary laws, that is, it is in harmony with the method of animal sacrifice based on Jewish law so that the food is pure and that it has the highest quality.

And, as you were able to see, kosher cheese, unlike “normal” cheese has numerous benefits, so all people could eat it.

So, to sum it up, we can say that this type of food is consumed because of the protection of the procedure, since there is a high quality of the food, and since it meets the conditions of the Jewish dietary regulations.

These are not compulsory for all Jews, besides there are many people who prefer this type of food due to the highest quality of the cheese-making process.

By this, we indicate that the kinds of cheese appropriate for Jewish dietary norms are cheddar, mozzarella, and Swiss cheese, but they have to have kosher certification.

In any other way, this cheese could not be suitable or kosher – and you can find an easy symbol to see it.

It is most commonly the letter K that has a star and it suggests kosher food items, for example, but other markings are depending on the country.

In any case, if you buy this type of cheese be certain that you are buying cheese that is made with the highest quality standards, and it is your choice which will you choose.

More topics to discover:

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles