Is Caviar Kosher? Answered! 

One of the most famous and most luxurious foods that ever existed still till this day is most definitely caviar.

Some hate it, while others adore it and want to eat it and feel truly extravagant; but most definitely we can say that this is not the food that is for everyone, there is a specific kind of people who loves to eat it.

Caviar has been on the menus of royals since the 12th century, in those times these eggs were collected from fish that is dead, but this caviar has a bitter taste, so it was given up from this a long time ago, and it no longer produced in this way.

Nowadays it is still a luxury but it is produced in a completely different way than before.

Most caviar comes from the Caspian Sea, and there is a manufacturer of the caviar that comes from Iran, but they only produce it, and they cannot eat it, since their faith forbids them to do so.

But, what happens with Jewish people – does their religion allows them to eat caviar?

First of all, we must say that all types of fish that have scales are allowed for eating, while crabs and lobsters are not seen as kosher.

And what also should be said is that, unlike meat, here we do not see any prescribed ritual that must be met, unlike when meat is consumed.

The rule for the fish to be kosher is to have scales when in the market.

Is Caviar Kosher?

Jewish people have their own rules set in kashrut or kosher as it is translated, and many things are forbidden and some are allowed.

All food that these community eats must have a blessing that comes from a Rabbi so that it is seen as kosher.

So, the question here is – can Jewish people enjoy it?

The first question we want to provide an answer – can Jewish people eat roe (eggs that are made from sea animals)?

And the general rule here – is if the fish concretely is seen as cosher, then also its eggs are seen as kosher, and you can make this comparison with the chicken, which is kosher, and so are its eggs.

In the Torah, only the partial answer could be found – there it is said that only fish that has scales is seen as kosher, and therefore it can be consumed.

But later on, some Jewish scholars said that not all fish with scales are seen as kosher, so here comes the confusion.

This is completely understandable, as is the case, in so many things, but there is an answer.

It is also said that one main rule plays here the most important part where the fish and subsequently eggs (caviar) could be consumed.

And that is – can scales be peeled off without the need to tear the skin of the fish?

So, for example, the scale of the perch or sea bass is very easy to peel off, so these fish are seen as kosher, based on the previously mentioned rule.

Trout and salmon, for example, have softer textures and they are also seen as kosher as they can be easily prepared and made.

But, we know that there are so many fish and how can we know are kosher or not?

Since we are talking about caviar we must talk about sturgeon and all 27 types of this fish that exist.

Is it seen as kosher, based on the rule of the scale?

Having said this – think of the scale that this fish has – it is very firm and could not be easily removed, and if you do it, then you will do it so that you tear the skin of the fish itself, and this is not based on the kosher rules.

So, we come to the answer – caviar is made out of sturgeon, is not kosher, and people of the Jewish community could not eat it, as it simply does not meet these regulations.

Is there any Caviar that is kosher?

In fact, for all those Jewish people who like to enjoy this delicacy, there are some options on the market – caviar that follows the kosher rules.

For example, there is a company called

We know that options like Kaluga sturgeons or maybe Sevruga sturgeons are not the options, on the market, there are those who meet these laws and companies that produce fish that can be harvested for roe they make, and here Wild Alaskan Pink Salmon Kosher caviar is one of them, as it obtains the certificate as well as Bowfin Alma Calva Kosher Caviar.

These are just some examples of the Caviar that have appeared on the market in recent years that meet up the regulations of Jewish laws, and that can be suitable for their consumption.

More about Caviar

Do you like caviar?

Have you ever tasted the real deal – this word has a root in the Persian language and it is khyah (when translated) we get the word egg.

When we say the real deal, in the terms of this luxury item, we get ot know that this is raw fish eggs that are salted and it does not come from just any fish, but some specific kinds.

Most notably it is obtained from the sturgeon that belong to the Acipenseridae family. The best kind belongs to the wilderness.

They could be found in Central parts of Asia, and also in the river Volga, in the Eastern parts of Europe.

Believe it or not, there are 27 species of them.

The fish that is used to acquire this indulgent specialty are cultivated for up to 10 years, and this is the moment when they begin to ovulate.

In some kinds of fish, this happens even after more than a decade.

At the perfect moment, the female fish is captured and put under the ultrasound so that it could be seen that eggs are ready to be gathered.

If it is concluded that it is made then fish is mildly sedated by medicine or mild electro-shocks and the cut is made so that eggs could be collected.

The stomach of the fish is then sealed back and the fish is turned back to the water so that it can make more eggs.

When eggs are accumulated, they are passed through a sieve to isolate and pull the membrane and are then divided by type.

Eggs are then put into the salty solution and there it is kept for a few minutes then the caviar is placed at 3 degrees Celsius, as this is seen as the perfect temperature to keep them fresh.

China has set itself as a manufacturer that makes this luxury food- it is the third country that produces it.

Also, Saudi Arabia is making quality caviar.


Jews are a people who are very disciplined and strictly adhere to the prescribed dietary rules, these rules have been around for thousands of years, and they are known as people who are obliging these laws, even in modern times, where food that was not existent in the old days, are now regulars on the tables.

Many people wonder if Caviar is kosher and if can it be eaten, as it is a famous delicacy on the tables in many restaurants.

How to resist it, and not be able to taste it, but how can we be sure that they are kosher?

In order to give an answer to this question, we must first clarify something about the dietary rules of the Jewish people, which specifically concern fish and seafood.

We have already said, and this is something that is seen as a general rule that the Jewish people are only allowed to eat fish that have fins and scales.

This is, as we have said very importantly to remember.

Everything that is not listed above is forbidden to eat, and that includes squid, mussels, lobster, clams, crabs, whales, dolphins, and stingrays…

Although this may be contradictory, it is true.

Sea and river fish that have fins and necessarily scales are considered free to eat, as well as their products, but only on the condition that they are prepared in a proper way and as prescribed.

Caviar that is made from a type of fish that has fins and scales is considered Kosher and can be consumed for that reason.

Also, in order for that caviar to be kosher, it must be prepared with kosher utensils “cutting boards, knives)…

Caviar is therefore kosher if all the rules are followed, regarding the type of fish from which it is made and if it is prepared in the appropriate way and with the permitted utensils for its preparation.

A kosher diet is actually very healthy and you don’t need to be afraid of it even people who do not belong to the Jewish community can practice it, as it has so many benefits for the human organism.

This type of diet actually promotes everything that is natural and that is actually healthy to eat.

This means that in kosher products, which are labeled as Kosher, everything must be in its place, and all elements that are prescribed must be followed.

Kosher nutrition is something that is really healthy because it promotes everything that is healthy, without additives, emulsifiers, and any unnecessary additions to food, that can be harmful to the human body. The harmfulness can come later on.

Adhering to the way of eating also strengthens both the body and the spirit, because you have to resist some foods that seem very tempting and tasty.

In this way, you strengthen your mind and train it to resist the other experiences that life puts before you.

This means that this food must be prepared according to Jewish rules and must not contain additives or any harmful additives.

Therefore, if you buy caviar in a store, pay attention to whether it is marked as kosher.

Fish and its products, which are allowed as well as Caviar if prepared from Kosher fish, are not considered meat.

Fish and eggs are categorized as neutral foods, suggesting they do not include any milk or meat.

Fish is seen as kosher food exclusively if it arrives from fish that have fins and scales, and here we include fish like tuna, salmon, and shellfish.

Those animals that live in the sea and do not have any of these traits, like crabs, lobsters, or shrimp are not allowed to be consumed based on Jewish laws.

Unlike meat, fish could be eaten with dairy products like meat which is strictly forbidden to be eaten with meat.

Unlike meat, fish does not require separate dishes for preparation and can be eaten with meat or dairy products.

Eggs that come from kosher birds or fish are allowed as long as there are no trails of blood in them.

Like fish, eggs can be consumed with meat or dairy products.

In the Torah, it is said that all fish that has a scale that is tough and that is hardly removed, is not seen as kosher, and therefore eggs (caviar) from these fish are not allowed, since sturgeon is one of those fish that has such scale.

Of course, the market is expanding, and you can find a lot of alternatives for your favorite food, including caviar.

Like & Share This Article:

Similar Articles