Doritos are among the most popular snacks. Doritos are sold on six continents in more than seventy different varieties.
According to sales reports, Doritos may be the most successful snack ever sold in the US. Annually, Doritos are sold in the US market worth one and a half billion dollars.
Based on Doritos sales data, nearly seven million Americans eat eight or more bags in a month.
Doritos are very popular in America as evidenced by these statistics, but they are even more popular in Mexico.
There is no country in the entire world where Doritos are more popular than they are in Mexico.
Just behind Mexico is Brazil, where Doritos are also extremely popular.
Doritos are also popular in many Muslim-majority countries. Therefore, it is important to determine whether this popular snack is halal or haram in Islam.
We will be able to conclude whether Doritos are halal or haram if we analyze the ingredients used in the production of this very popular snack.
When one product on the market has so many different types, then it is not easy to answer yes or no.
In front of a shelf with Doritos packed in so many bags of different colors, with so many flavors and names of each type individually, everyone will wonder: which Doritos are halal?
Are red doritos halal? Are blue or purple Doritos halal or haram in Islam?
To answer this question, for each type, it would be necessary to determine which ingredients were used in production.
There is always a list of ingredients on the bags that must be checked, so if all the ingredients are halal, then that type of Doritos will also be halal.
Doritos are not produced in just one factory or just one country and often exist differences between the same type of Doritos and this can affect the answer as to whether a particular type of Doritos is halal or not.
In some countries, mostly Muslim-majority countries, you will find Doritos on the shelves with the halal certificate displayed on their packaging.
In that case, there will be no need to check the ingredients list.
You should also know that the same type of Doritos can appear on the market under completely different names.
Although it is the same type of Doritos that tastes the same and is made with the same ingredients, it may have a different name depending on the country where it is produced or the country where it is sold.
For example, Cool Ranch Doritos will be sold as Cool American Ranch Doritos in some countries.
Where are all the Doritos made?
Doritos is a brand of the American company PepsiCo.
The first Doritos appeared on the American market in 1964. Translated from the Spanish language, Doritos means a small fried and golden thing.
The first Doritos were toasted corn, and they were created and invented in a Disneyland restaurant.
The current look of Doritos, which is globally recognizable, was created only in 1994 when Doritos got its rounded corners and began to be produced with the addition of more spices and ingredients.
Currently, Doritos is produced in nine other countries around the world in addition to the United States.
Doritos factories are located in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Mexico, New Zealand, Japan, Thailand, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.
In the United States, PepsiCo has thirty factories where Doritos are produced. These plants are located across the US in twenty-one states.
Doritos that are produced in factories in the US are not halal certified.
In Great Britain, Doritos are produced at PepsiCo’s factory in Coventry.
Doritos that are manufactured in PepsiCo’s factory in Coventry are not halal certified.
In Canada, Doritos are produced in five factories, located in Alberta, Ontario, Nova Scotia, and Quebec. Doritos in Canada is made by Frito Lay Canada.
There are two plants in Alberta located in Taber and Lethbridge.
There is a factory located in Cambridge, Ontario.
In Nova Scotia there is a factory located in Kentville.
In Quebec, there is a factory located in Lauzon.
Doritos produced at Frito Lay Canada plants in Taber, Cambridge, Kentville, Lauzon, and Lethbridge are not halal certified.
In New Zealand, Doritos is produced by the Bluebird Foods factory, which is part of the PepsiCo Corporation in Auckland.
Doritos that are produced at the Bluebird Foods factory in New Zealand are not halal certified.
In Mexico, PepsiCo produces Doritos under the Sabritas brand.
The Mexican version of Nacho Doritos has a stronger aroma and taste of cheese and jalapeno than, for example, Nacho Doritos made in the US.
Sabritas Doritos produced in factories in Mexico is not halal certified.
There are many versions of Doritos in Japan that you can only try in this country.
Gourmet Fondue Doritos, Coconut Curry Doritos, Sesame Chicken Doritos, Sausage Doritos, Caramel Doritos, Steak Doritos, Sriracha Doritos, German Potato Doritos, Garlic Doritos, and Caesar Salad Doritos are some of the more unusual types of Doritos made in Japan.
Sausage Doritos and Steak Doritos are two types of Doritos that unequivocally answer the question of whether Doritos produced in Japan are halal or haram.
The aroma of pork sausages and the aroma of steak are of course haram and it is not even necessary to check the list of ingredients used for these products because their names speak for themselves.
Doritos produced in Japan are not halal certified.
PepsiCo India manufactures Doritos in Kolkata.
PepsiCo India’s production is not halal certified.
In South Africa, Doritos is produced by the South African company Simba.
Doritos that are produced in South Africa are Halal certified. Halal certification for Doritos produced by Simba in South Africa has been issued by SAHNA.
What are the ingredients in Doritos?
Before looking at the ingredients list of Doritos it should be noted that some ingredients are considered haram because there is a possibility that they are obtained from animal sources, but those same ingredients can also be obtained from plant-based sources, and in that case, they are halal.
For example, cheese can be obtained from animal rennet, but it can also be obtained from vegetable rennet.
Animal rennet is haram regardless of whether it is of pig or beef origin.
Vegetable rennet is halal.
Monosodium glutamate (MSG) is among the ingredients that can confuse if it is not known precisely from which source they are obtained.
Monosodium glutamate can be obtained from both animal and plant sources.
Depending on the source, this ingredient can also be halal or haram.
Doritos consist of corn, salt, vegetable oil, Maltodextrin, cheddar cheese, whey, maltodextrin, monosodium glutamate, Romano cheese, Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion powder, Corn flour, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Tomato Powder, Lactose, Spices, Artificial Color, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Skim Milk, Red and Green Bell Pepper Powder, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.
Corn is halal.
Salt is halal. There is no haram type of salt.
Maltodextrin made from corn is halal. Maltodextrin is an easily digestible food additive.
Maltodextrin is a mixture of carbohydrates. It is not recommended for diabetics because of the complications it can cause.
Vegetable oil is natural oil. In the production of Doritos, one of the oils obtained from corn, soybean, or sunflower is used.
Vegetable oils are halal and animal oils are haram.
Cheddar cheese is haram because animal rennet is used to make it.
In the production of Doritos, it is possible to replace cheese that is haram with cheese obtained from vegetable rennet.
It is estimated that animal rennet is still used for only about five percent of cheese production in the world.
Monosodium glutamate also meets the halal requirements prescribed by Islamic food safety regulations. Monosodium glutamate is also kosher-certified in the US and Canada.
Monosodium glutamate consists of glutamic acid and salt.
Monosodium glutamate is healthier than salt and unlike salty salt, monosodium glutamate develops an umami taste.
Monosodium glutamate will be haram only if it is obtained from yeast grown on a pig source.
Romano cheese is haram because it is obtained by using animal-based rennet.
Whey protein concentrate is ḫalal if it is obtained from whey that was not created using animal rennet but rather whey obtained using plant sources.
Onion powder is a halal-certified product.
Corn flour is a source of vitamins and minerals, which is why it affects the strengthening of immunity.
Corn flour is halal.
Natural and artificial flavors are halal first of all if they are of plant origin.
Natural and artificial flavors can be obtained by distillation, fermentation, or in some other way in the laboratory.
If the flavors are extracted with the help of ethanol, then they are haram.
All natural and artificial flavors obtained from animal sources are also haram.
Dextrose is halal. Dextrose is a sugar derived from starch.
Dextrose can be obtained from rice, wheat, or corn.
Tomato Powder is a dehydrated vegetable that is produced by drying and grinding tomatoes.
There are halal certificates on the packaging of tomato powder, for the production of which no ingredients of animal origin or alcohol were used.
Lactose is milk sugar. If lactose contains animal enzymes then it is haram, otherwise, if lactose is without animal enzymes then it is halal.
Lactic Acid is an acid that is obtained using lactic acid bacteria. Lactic Acid E240 is halal and serves as a preservative or regulator in food products.
Citric Acid is a halal ingredient. This acid is obtained from a plant source.
The most common sources for obtaining citric acid are lemon or lime, and it can also be obtained from any other citrus fruit.
Sugar is the main sweetener in Doritos.
Sugar is obtained by processing sugar cane and sugar beet.
Sugar is a halal ingredient.
Garlic Powder is a halal-certified product.
Skim Milk is halal if it does not contain emulsifiers or other ingredients derived from pigs.
Red and Green Bell Pepper Powder is a halal-certified product.
Disodium Inosinate is halal if it is obtained by fermentation with the help of bacteria.
Which Doritos are Halal?
Whether Doritos are halal or haram can be most accurately determined by analyzing the ingredients used in the production of this popular snack.
There are many different types of Doritos on the market and therefore each type must be determined as to whether it is halal or haram.
PepsiCo has Doritos manufacturing plants in ten countries around the world.
Often the same types of Doritos differ in the strength of flavor or aroma depending on the country in which the Doritos were produced.
Also, in some countries, there is an entire range of Doritos that is unique to that country.
In front of so many packages of different colors, with so many flavors of Doritos and different names, everyone will wonder: which Doritos are halal?
Are nacho cheese doritos halal? Are cool ranch doritos halal? Are sweet chili pepper doritos halal or haram in Islam? Are Tangy Cheese Doritos Halal?
Based on the data we have only for certain types of Doritos, we will answer whether they are halal or haram.
Nacho cheese Doritos are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
Cool Ranch Doritos are haram because the cheese used in their production is derived from animal rennet.
Sweet Chili Heat Doritos is halal because the ingredients used in the production of these Doritos do not contain animal enzymes.
But it should be checked whether monosodium glutamate is obtained from an animal or plant source.
If this ingredient is derived from a plant source then Sweet Chili Heat Doritos are halal.
Tangy Cheese Doritos are haram because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Chilli Heatwave Doritos are haram.
Among other ingredients used for Chilli Heatwave Doritos, cheese powder is used in the production of these Doritos, which is obtained from animal rennet.
In addition to cheese powder, which is haram, this type of Doritos also contains some alcohol-based ingredients. All these ingredients are haram.
Toasted Corn flavors Doritos are halal because they do not contain cheese. It should be checked whether the monosodium glutamate used as an ingredient is plant-based or animal-based.
The Blaze Doritos are halal provided that the monosodium glutamate they contain is plant-based.
Flamin’ Hot Nacho Doritos are haram because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Salsa Verde Doritos are haram because they contain Natural Chicken Flavor.
Blazin’ Buffalo & Ranch Doritos are harams because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Taco Flavored Doritos are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
Simply Organic White Cheddar Doritos are haram because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Poppin’ Jalapeno Doritos are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
Tapatio Doritos are haram because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Doritos Flavor Shots – Nacho Cheese Covered Peanuts are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Doritos are haram because they contain cheese derived from animal rennet.
Dynamite Chile Lemon Rolled Doritos are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
Doritos Flavor Shots – Flamin’ Hot Nacho Cheese Covered Peanuts are haram because they contain cheese that is derived from animal rennet.
Doritos Collisions – Blaze And Ultimate Cheddar are haram because the cheese used in their production contains animal enzymes.
PepsiCo makes Doritos in many countries.
Some of the Doritos even though they taste the same in different countries have different names.
The same types of Doritos can differ in strength flavor and taste depending on the country in which they are produced or the market for which they are intended.
Doritos that are made in Mexico have much stronger flavors than Doritos that are made in the US for example.
None of the Doritos produced in factories in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Mexico, New Zealand, Japan, Thailand, and India are Halal certified.
Doritos that are produced in South Africa are Halal certified. Halal certification for Doritos produced in South Africa is issued by SAHNA.
It is indicated on the packages of Doritos that have a halal certificate.
Some types of Doritos have halal status due to the ingredients used. Those types can be halal even though they are produced in factories that do not have halal certificates, but only on the condition that no cross-contamination occurred during production.
Doritos that are halal based on the list of ingredients used do not contain animal enzymes or alcohol-based ingredients.